Press Release

Twenty-two Atlanta Tech Students Nominated for GOAL Award

Instructors at Atlanta Technical College (ATC) have nominated 22 of their students for the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) competition, according to Dessie Hall, coordinator for the college’s GOAL program.

GOAL, a statewide program of the Technical College System of Georgia, honors excellence in academics and leadership among the state’s technical college students.  GOAL winners are selected at each of the state’s 24 technical colleges as well as one Board of Regents college with a technical education division.  Chosen for recognition by their instructors are: Folarera Akibogun, Michael Beasley, Michelle Cameron, Edward Cannon, Charles Coleman, Benjamin Grant, Calvin Green, DeVince Harris, Michael Harris, Missy Hawkins, Larry Jackson, Jr., Yesmeen Jarvis, LaToya Jones, Diane Lewis, Robert Meredith, Cremeithius Riggins, Junko Sloan, Keisha Stokes, Terence Whitehead, Veronica Whitehead, Shantell Wilcher, and Demetrica Wright.

"The purpose of the GOAL program is to spotlight the outstanding achievement by students in Georgia's technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce," said Hall.

A screening committee of administrators at ATC will review each of the instructors’ nominations then conduct personal interviews with the students.  After the nominees have been ranked, four finalists will then be chosen to compete to be the Atlanta Technical College GOAL winner for 2014.

The four finalists will then take part in another round of interviews and evaluations by a selection committee of representatives from local business and industry. That panel will consider the students’ qualities like academic achievement, personal character, leadership abilities and enthusiasm for technical education. 

The student judged most outstanding will be designated as the college’s GOAL winner and move on to the regional competition.  Then three from each of the three regions will make up the nine regional finalists, who will be named in April at the state GOAL conference in Atlanta.  The nine regional finalists will then move to the state level and compete for the title of state GOAL winner.

The student who earns the state GOAL winner title is also awarded the important responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the entire technical college system.  To make that travel easier, the winner also receives a new car from the statewide corporate sponsor of Georgia’s GOAL program.

In 2012, ATC’s LaNette Holloman was named GOAL Student of the Year.  A year later, another ATC student, Shalethea McEroy was named one of the top finalists in the competition.